My Fit Foods … take-out you can feel good about!

I enjoy cooking healthy, flavorful meals but there are those days when I have been running around since 6am and by the time 7pm rolls around the last thing I want to do is cook … This is where my dilemma begins: take-out or something frozen? Until recently, the chinese restaurant on the corner has been the go to. Their steamed chicken & veggies are good, but it is never anything to write home about and (I reluctantly admit) I have a bad habit of picking out the chicken — ignoring the veggies I should be eating.

But now, I have a better solution for that all too familiar dilemma: My Fit Foods. They have a location inside my HEB grocery store, so it is super convenient & priced about the same as my usual chinese take-out ($6-8/meal). According to their website, 90% of their meals are gluten free … Yay!! Here is what they have to say about their food:

My Fit Foods are perfectly portioned meals available in small, medium, and large sizes, made daily with the freshest ingredients. Unhealthy fats, gluten, sodium, and sugar are kept to a minimum, while flavor is maximized with antioxidant rich herbs and spices. You never knew healthy tasted this good!

Check out the nutrient dense foods we choose for our balanced meals and snacks:

  • Low Glycemic Index Carbohydrates – We use foods low on the glycemic index (less than 55) that will leave you feeling energized all day instead of lethargic. Examples are steel cut oats, quinoa, sweet potatoes, parboiled rice, squash, leafy green vegetables, and a variety of fruits.
  • Lean Proteins – We use a variety of lean protein sources such as chicken breast, beef tenderloin, shrimp, ground turkey, and a 5 to 1 egg white and egg yolk mix.
  • Heart Healthy Fats – We use healthy oils that lower inflammation and aid in weight loss goals. Examples are macadamia nut oil, olive oil, small amounts of real butter, and a variety of nuts and seeds.
  • Antioxidant Rich Spices – Our food may be healthy, but it is definitely not boring! Antioxidants lower inflammation and slow the aging process and one of the best ways to get them is through spices. We cook with cumin, garlic, cilantro, rosemary, thyme, oregano, turmeric, and cayenne pepper.
Their meals are super flavorful, so there is no need to add anything — except maybe a side of brown rice or quinoa (if it does not already have a carb included). I was worried that the veggies would become mushy when reheated, but they stay pretty crisp (and I actually eat them, all of them). So far, I think the roasted Chicken & Veggies with pesto is my favorite; the BBQ chicken is next on my list to try. They also have breakfasts, though I have not tried any of them yet, I am sure they are tasty!
Better Beef & Broccoli

Better Beef & Broccoli (medium)
360 calories, 10g fat, 17g carbs, 43g protein

Roasted Chicken & Veggies with a pesto sauce

Roasted Chicken & Veggies w/pesto (small)
320 calories, 23g fat, 7g carbs, 21g protein

They even have 3 flavors of gluten free protein cookies: Chocolate Chip, White Chocolate Macadamia Nut & Peanut Butter. I have tried (and loved) them all. I will say, you can tell that they are healthy … but they are so good, you won’t mind!

Chocolate Chip Protein Cookie
150 calories, 5g fat, 19g carbs, 4g fiber & 10g protein

Finally, take-out (& snacks) you can feel good about! (:

Have you tried My Fit Foods yet? Which meal is your favorite?

Leave a Reply

