Recipe: Egg Drop Soup

Egg drop soup has been one of my favorite foods since I was a kid. I used to be a little intimidated by making it myself, choosing instead to get it from the nearest Chinese restaurant instead. Since becoming gluten free, I know that 9 times out of 10 my local Chinese restaurant is not going to be gfree friendly. So, I have been experimenting with making it myself & I think I finally got it!

20120329-094521.jpg

-1 egg, plus 1 egg white
-1 1/2 cup chicken stock
-1/4 cup water
-1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
-1 teaspoon cornstarch
-1/4 teaspoon Chinese Five Spice
-green onion, sliced (optional)
-gfree soy sauce (optional)

In a small pot, bring chicken stock to a boil. Meanwhile, blend together cornstarch & water in a small cup. In another small cup, whisk egg & egg white together.

Once chicken stock is boiling, reduce heat to medium, stir in chinese five spice and begin adding in egg. This is where it gets tricky — a smooth texture is difficult to obtain. The easiest method I have found is to “spoon” it in with a fork. After all the egg is added, slowly pour in cornstarch mixture and sesame oil. Cook for 1 minute, then serve.

Top with green onion slices. Add gfree soy sauce if desired.

This makes up 1 LARGE serving and is only 143 calories with 15g of protein!

Leave a Reply

