Product Review: Immaculate Baking Co. Chocolate Chip Cookies

Today is National Chocolate Chip Day and what better way to celebrate than with a fresh from the oven chocolate chip cookie?! Since going gluten free, I have missed the days of take and bake cookies. A few months ago, I found Immaculate Baking Co. gluten free cookie dough in the refrigerated section of my local HEB … but I did not buy them because they are 150 calories per cookie. I returned a few weeks later, craving a soft, freshly baked cookie, only to find that they no longer stocked them. Disappointed, I returned to eating crispy chocolate chip cookies from a box whenever the craving struck. Until this past Sunday that is! During our weekly grocery trip to Target, I found them once again. I was not going to miss out this time, so I bought a package to try.

Soooooooo good! They are perfectly moist and rich — you would never know they are gluten free! The package indicates it makes 12 jumbo cookies. Maybe it is the portion distortion that runs rampant in the US these days or maybe it is just me, but I would not call them jumbo cookies. I would, however, call them delish! Since I have no self control when it comes to sweets, I have been making them up a few at a time. And because they are pre-formed,  it is easy to pop one or two in the oven for a sweet after dinner treat. Before you bake them, you definitely want to mash them down a bit — otherwise you will end up with a really thick, gooey centered cookie. The easiest way I have found to do this is by running hot water over a metal spoon, use the back of the spoon to press down the dough. They are great on their own, with a side of fruit or even turned into an ice cream sandwich as the company suggests on their website!

Immaculate Baking Co. also offers a certified gluten free fudge brownie cookie dough. Both flavors are also dairy free, making them a win for those with multiple food allergies. They even have a handy store locator, so you can easily find them at a location near you. And though they are a splurge in the calorie department, they are worth! Just remember: everything in moderation!!

Happy National Chocolate Chip Day y’all!

Share your favorite way to celebrate this deliciously sweet day in the comments section!!

Leave a Reply

