Beauty Product I LOVE!!

I’m a beauty product junkie; always have been and probably always will be. A few months ago, after realizing how much I focus on what goes in my body, I began to focus on what goes on my body. I have gradually been switching out my chemical laden beauty products for ones made with natural ingredients and have noticed a marked improvement in my skin tone & texture.

I have always had what I consider dry skin. If I do not moisturize after every shower, my skin feels tight and begins to look a bit flaky. So, when the last of my Vaseline Cocoa Butter Lotion ran out and it was time to look for something a bit more natural, with ingredients I could pronounce, I was anticipating a lot of trial and error before I found something I liked. Initially, I picked up an aloe lotion from Kiss My Face. It was alright. It didn’t absorb into my skin quite as easily as I would have liked. Then, I discovered it was not one of their gluten free products. Though I don’t use 100% gluten free beauty products, there are a few that I want to be that way and lotion is definitely one of them. After this discovery, I considered making my own lotion. I had googled my little fingers away on how to make lotion and it seemed simple enough: beeswax, oil, fragrance. But I wasn’t sure how cost effective it would be. Ultimately, I decided to try this from NOW Foods

This 16oz bottle cost ~$10 at HEB and lasts me about 2-3 months.

Almond oil was listed as one of the best oils to use in lotion making because it is full of skin protecting antioxidants and it is one of the reasons why I picked it over other oils. Vitamin E oil is also a good choice, as long as you know its source, many of them are derived from wheat sources. I’m not gonna lie, using oil as a moisturizer took a bit of getting used to. Initially, I was using too much which made me feel like an oily/greasy mess all day. After a bit of trial and error, I found the best way to apply it was using a spray bottle immediately after showering. A few squirts per body part, a quick rub down and I am moisturized for the entire day. I no longer have to worry about flaky patches of skin or unexplainable red bumps, a natural moisturizer was just what my skin needed!

Bonus: This particular almond oil from NOW Foods is food grade, which means it’s suitable for consumption and therefore can be used to make a great lip scrub. Simply mix small amounts of the oil and brown sugar together in a bowl until it has reached your desired consistency. You can add essential oils as well. The mixture will stay fresh in a sealed container for up to one month. Just rub on your lips for a sweet way to soften them! I like to do this about once a week or so.

Now, I’m on the hunt for a body wash made with all natural ingredients. Got one you recommend? Share it with me in the comments section!

Live Fabulous.

Leave a Reply

