Recipe: Banana Berry Muffins

At the end of the week, I always seem to be left with a few brown bananas. Sometimes I throw them in to smoothies, but more often than not, I (guiltily) throw them in the trash. Until a few weeks ago …

Bananas in the trash no more! I’ve finally found a super easy, healthy & delish way to turn those brown bananas in to a healthy treat that I can eat for breakfast or dessert!

Recipe makes 10 muffins (at about 160 calories each, with 3 grams of fiber and 90mg of potassium)

You’ll need:

  • 2 cups certified gluten free oats
  • 2 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 8 medium strawberries, mashed (or 1 cup mashed raspberries or blueberries)
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans (or almonds)
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened, shredded coconut (optional)
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon gluten free pure vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 325 degree, prepare muffin pan with liners (I mist my muffin liners with olive oil to avoid sticking).

Place oatmeal in a blender and blend for about 1 minute or until about 1/2 of the mixture resembles flour (you can blend until all the oats become flour, but I like the bulkiness the oats give the muffin). Whisk in baking soda, powder, salt and (optional) coconut; set aside.

In a medium sized bowl, mix together the mashed bananas, honey, vanilla and egg white. Slowly add in oat mixture; mix until ingredients are just combined.

Gently fold in chocolate chips, berries and nuts.

Place 1/4 cup of mixture in to each muffin liner.

Bake for about 40 minutes.

(for the original recipe that inspired these yummy muffins, check out Ambitious Kitchen!)

… Now you might be wondering what that gob of stuff is beside the muffin?! That, my friends, is pumpkin pie cream cheese. Since I failed to take a picture of the muffins solo and since the cream cheese is less of a recipe and more a globbing together of ingredients, I thought I’d give ya the how-to here (nice little bonus, right?!) …

To whip this up, I used 8 tablespoons of cream cheese, 1/2 can of organic canned pumpkin, 1 tablespoon agave, a splash of vanilla extract, a generous amount of cinnamon and a few sprinkles of nutmeg. I just mixed it all together and voila: Pumpkin Pie Cream Cheese! Now, I will tell you, with 1 tablespoon of agave it is not super sweet, so you may want to add more to the mix. I’ve been putting this on waffles in the morning and topping it with a little extra agave, it’s like eating a pumpkin pie for breakfast!!

How do you use up your brown bananas? Tell me about it in the comments section!!

Live Delish.

Leave a Reply

