Recipe: Breakfast on the go-go!

Well, it all officially begins tomorrow — my second year of grad school that is! And while on paper my schedule isn’t too hectic, that doesn’t mean things aren’t gonna get crazy, quick. Between classes, my TA position, internship search and home I’m quite sure I will be running around like a chicken with my head cut-off in no time. But then again, I thrive under that kind of craziness! So, to Spring 2013 I say: BRING IT ON! (insert Not Another Teen Movie response here)

Now, despite my enthusiasm at the beginning of every semester, it is all to easy to let my healthy eating habits go by the wayside after a few weeks. To reduce the vending machine lunch temptation, my weekly meal/snack prep will resume this afternoon. And for those mornings when I’m running out the door without having made time for breakfast, I am armed with yummy smoothie recipes to fill me up on the go without having to spend too much time in the kitchen. I know I’m not the only one who finds themselves in this predicament in the mornings, so I’m sharing three of my all-time favorite breakfast smoothie recipes after the jump!

PBJ

Smoothie #1, PB&J in a glass

I love PB&J sandwiches! But at $6 for a loaf of gluten free bread, I don’t have them too often. Instead, I make a smoothie version that’s healthier AND cheaper!

Give it a try by blending together the following:

– 1/2 cup frozen blueberries (or raspberries)

– 1 tablespoon nut butter of your choice (I use SunButter)

– 3/4 cup milk of your choice

Smoothie #2, the Tropi-gal Smoothie

Blend together these yummy ingredients for an early morning tropical escape:

-1/2 cup cubed mango

-1/2 cup cubed papaya

-1 kiwi

-1/2 cup greek yogurt (you can sub soy yogurt)

-1 cup of ice

– splash of orange juice

Smoothie #3, Choc-o-running late

Simply blend together the following for a delish breakfast treat:

-1 banana

-1/4 cup nut butter of your choice

-1 cup milk of your choice

-2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

-1 tablespoon honey

-1/2 cup ice

Do you have a favorite smoothie recipe? Share it with me in the comments section!

Live Delish.

Like this post? Be sure to check out these tasty recipes for Cold Asian Noodle Salad, Peanut Butter Balls, Quinoa Jambalaya and Pumpkin Brownie Pie … or simply click on the recipes tab in the left side bar for lots more fabulously delish recipes!

xo! -T

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Breakfast on the go-go!

  1. 1cup almond milk
    1 tbsp almond butter
    1Tbsp ground flaxseed
    1 banana
    1/2 cup frozen fruit

    Almost have this one every morning

Leave a Reply

